#23 Don’t have exclusive friendships

Don’t leave people out.  Welcome people in to your friendship group, and look after them.  Everyone you meet has the potential to be a friend.

The world is big and scary and terrifying.  None of us really know why we’re here.  You are fortunate to have been born in to a peaceful part of the world.  In other parts of the world, people fight one another for lots of different reasons, which is ever so sad, because really nothing is worth fighting about (in a war sense).  People fight over land or differences in belief, or other things. We don’t own this planet, we merely inhabit it, yet some people think we do, and fight over tiny pieces of land they feel should belong to them.  We can’t ever really know who’s right or who’s wrong when it comes to belief, yet some people think they do and fight others that don’t believe the same.

It makes you realise how important people are and how important it is that we should look after each other.  Always.  Don’t leave people out for silly reasons, welcome those you meet in to your friendship group with open arms, I promise you it’s happier all round, for everyone.  The more the merrier.  Since living in London, friends from all the different walks of my life have come together, friendship groups have merged and shifted.  At first I was nervous at how this might work.  And now, four years on, I can tell you it is the most fabulous thing ever.   I have one huge, wonderful London family who are so very special to me.  They look out for me.  I try my best to look out for them.  Most of the time we’re having fun.  And when times are more difficult we try to be there for one another in any way we can.  I rarely feel alone, and am aware of how lucky I am to have met all of these people.  If you open your friendships to all, you will find that each one helps you grow, and will change you, irrevocably for the better.

I’ve heard it said
That people come into our lives for a reason
Bringing something we must learn
And we are led
To those who help us most to grow
If we let them
And we help them in return
Well, I don’t know if I believe that’s true
But I know I’m who I am today
Because I knew you…

-For Good, From Wicked.  This is mine and your Mum’s song, along with Nikki and Juliet.

Image

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” ~Plato

Leave a Reply

