#57 Cookies come out of the oven soft.

Tap bread on the bottom; if it sounds hollow, it’s ready.  Dip a metal knife in to the top of cakes: if it comes out clean, it’s cooked through.

So until recently, I used to burn every batch of cookies I baked.  And then I was round at my friend Jamie’s on a Sunday afternoon, eating homemade cookies, and he mentioned how it’s weird how they come out of the oven soft and then harden.

‘What?’

This was news to me, I’d always thought you had to cook them until they were solid.  Which is why I’d never had much success, I sit on years and years of unsuccessful rock-hard cookie attempts .  So I grilled him about his techniques and it turns out that after 12-15 minutes they should still be soft, they harden as they cool.  This revolutionised my cookie making, now I bake ALL the time.  Here’s my favourite recipe for you:

Peanut Butter Jelly Cookies

(Makes about 18)

175g Plain flour

175g Caster Sugar

175g Margarine / butter

1 egg

2 tbsps peanut butter

Red jam

1.  Cream the butter and the sugar together.  Then sift in the flour and add the egg.  Stir until blended in to a biscuit dough, then add the peanut butter, ensuring it weaves through the entire mix.

2. Separate in to balls and squash in to cookies.  Bake in a preheated oven (Gas mark 4 / 180°C) for 12-15 minutes.  Until slightly golden on top.

3. Once out of oven, while still warm and soft make a well in the top of each cookie and drop a teaspoon of jam in.

PBJC

Frest from the oven, soft and squidgy.  YUM!

 

Leave a Reply

